Dinner Station stands as a reminder of Nevada’s stagecoach era. Established in the early 1870s by William C. (Hill) Beachey as a meal stop for the Tuscarora and Mountain City Stage Lines, it was originally known as Weilands. The name later changed to Oldham’s Station when a change of ownership took place. A frame structure accommodated the traffic, but a fine two-story stone house, outbuildings, and a corral were built following a fire in the 1880s. Early in the twentieth century, both automobiles and horse-drawn stages stopped at Dinner Station and it became one of the most popular county inns of the time. After 1910, when automobiles became more common, the station ceased to be used.
STATE HISTORICAL MARKER No. 244
STATE HISTORIC PRESERVATION OFFICE